Skip Redundent Navigation
Territorial Kansas Online 1854-1861 Explore Topics Territorial A-Z Map Lesson Plans  

Territorial A-Z

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | 0-9

1 results for Dyer, G. M.:
Displaying results:1-1
Territorial Census, 1855, District 13
Authors: Jolly, H. B.
Date: January-February, 1855
This census was taken in order to determine eligible voters for elections to be held as proclaimed by Governor Andrew Reeder on November 10, 1854. The categories for information in the census were name, occupation, age, male, female, emigrated from, native of United States, naturalized citizen, declarant (intention to become a citizen), Negro, slave, and voter. Only white males over 21 were eligible to vote. The districts used for the census were the same as the election districts. A statistical summary of the census follows the enumeration pages. For District 13 the place of election was the house of G. M. Dyer, at the town of Ozawkie. The boundaries of each district were described in Governor Reeder's proclamation and it is difficult to determine what counties were in each district. The description of the Thirteenth District follows: "Commencing in the Kansas River, three miles above the mouth of Stranger Creek; thence in a northwardly direction by a line three miles west of said creek, and corresponding to the courses thereof until it shall strike the southern line of the last Kickapoo reservation; thence along the southern and western line of said reservation, and the western line of the late Sac and Fox reservation to the north line of the Territory; thence west along said line to the line of the Twelfth District; thence by the same and down Soldier's Creek to the mouth thereof, and down the Kansas River to the place of beginning." Districts 13 and 15 are included in one volume and are scanned as one as it is difficult to determine which entries are in what district.

Keywords: Calhoun County, Kansas Territory (see also Jackson County, Kansas Territory); Census; Dyer, G. M.; Jefferson County, Kansas Territory; Jolly, H. B.; Leavenworth County, Kansas Territory


The current URL is,%20G